Google for Startups Cloud Program: Up to $350,000 in Google Cloud Credits for AI Startups
Up to $2,000 (Start tier), up to $200,000 (Scale tier), or up to $350,000 for AI-first Scale-tier startups
The Google for Startups Cloud Program has a Start tier (up to $2,000 in Google Cloud credits valid for one year) for startups planning to raise, and a Scale tier for VC-funded startups (up to $200,000 over two years: 100% of usage up to $100,000 in Year 1 and 20% of usage up to another $100,000 in Year 2). AI-first startups in the Scale tier can receive up to $350,000, with Year 1 covering 100% of usage up to $250,000. Members also get Google Skills training credits and Google Workspace Business Plus free for 12 months for new signups, and Scale members get support credits, Google Maps Platform credits and a Startup Success Manager. Credits cover Google models such as Gemini and Gemma; third-party models in Model Garden are billed directly.
Who is eligible
- Start tier: technology startup planning to seek venture funding soon, with a working MVP and clear business model, founded within the last 24 months, and no prior Google Cloud credits beyond the free trial
- Scale tier: Pre-Seed/Seed rounds within the last 5 years or a Series A within the last 12 months, founded within the last 5 years, and not more than $5,000 in Google Cloud credits received so far
- Qualifying Scale funding is equity investment from institutional investors and VC firms; SAFEs are eligible, and Web3 startups may use verifiable token raises or blockchain foundation grants
- Private equity, government innovation grants, prize money, crowdfunding, angel and friends-and-family funding do not qualify for Scale but may be evaluated for other tiers
- AI program: Scale-tier eligible and AI-first, using or planning to use Gemini to deploy AI services as a foundation of the primary product (not a bolt-on)
- Not accepted: companies that have IPO'd or been acquired, educational institutions, government entities, nonprofits, personal blogs or content, dev shops, consultancies, agencies, crypto mining companies, or companies distributing tokens contrary to local regulatory guidance
- Acceptance is at the discretion of Google Cloud
How to claim it
- Create a Google Cloud account and billing account, and note the 18-character billing account ID (Console > Billing > Manage your billing account)
- Use a business email on your startup's public website domain; the email domain on your billing account must match too
- Apply at cloud.google.com/startup/apply and choose the tier that matches your stage
- For Scale, provide links to public sources showing your equity funding, or have your investor verify funding if you are in stealth
- Most decisions arrive within a few business days; applications needing manual review can take 10 days or more
Catches & caveats
Whether a credit card is required is not stated on the program pages; a Google Cloud billing account ID is required before applying. Regional availability is not stated on the official pages. A Web3 track (up to $200,000 over two years for Google Cloud and Firebase usage) exists and is only summarized here. Program credits cover Google Cloud services; Google's Gemini API billing documentation says promotional Cloud credits on a Prepay billing account can be used only after funds have been added to that account.
Short answer: The Google for Startups Cloud Program gives pre-funding startups up to $2,000 in Google Cloud credits and VC-funded startups up to $200,000 over two years, rising to $350,000 for AI-first startups. Applications are open, decisions usually take a few business days, and the credits can be spent on Gemini and Gemma models plus most Google Cloud services, but not on third-party models or Marketplace products.
Tiers and credit amounts
| Start | Scale | Scale, AI-first | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who it's for | Startups with an MVP planning to raise | VC-funded startups | VC-funded startups with AI at the core of the product |
| Year 1 credits | Up to $2,000, valid one year | 100% of usage up to $100,000 | 100% of usage up to $250,000 |
| Year 2 credits | None | 20% of usage up to $100,000 more | 20% of usage up to $100,000 more |
| Maximum | $2,000 | $200,000 | $350,000 |
| Google Skills training credits | $200 | $500 | $500 |
| Workspace Business Plus | Free 12 months (new signups) | Free 12 months (new signups) | Free 12 months (new signups) |
| Google Maps Platform | Not listed | $600 per month in credits (separate application) | $600 per month in credits (separate application) |
| Enhanced Support credits | Not listed | Up to $12,000 for one year | Up to $12,000 for one year |
| People | Webinars and content | Startup Success Manager and Startup Customer Engineers | Same, plus AI experts and training |
Enhanced Support credits give you one-hour response times for critical issues, according to Google. The Workspace offer applies only if your company domain has not had a paid Google Workspace plan in the 31 days before you apply, up to the day you request the benefit.
Who qualifies for each tier
Start tier
- A technology startup planning to seek venture funding soon, with a working MVP and a clear business model.
- Founded within the last 24 months.
- No Google Cloud credits received beyond the standard free trial.
- Able to show a well-defined product roadmap.
Scale tier
- Raised Pre-Seed or Seed within the last five years, or a Series A within the last 12 months.
- Founded within the last five years.
- Received no more than $5,000 in Google Cloud credits so far.
- Funding must be equity from institutional investors or VC firms. SAFEs count. Private equity, government innovation grants, prize money, crowdfunding, angel and friends-and-family money do not qualify for Scale.
- Stealth startups are supported once funding is verified.
AI-first startups
To reach the $350,000 package, you must meet the Scale criteria and be AI-first. Google defines this as using or planning to use Gemini to deploy AI services as a foundation of your primary product, with AI built into the company's structure and strategy "and not only as a productivity/bolt-on layer." Google says it reviews these applications case by case, which explains why two AI startups with similar funding can get different outcomes.
Who is excluded
Google says it cannot accept companies that have IPO'd or been acquired, educational institutions, government entities, nonprofits, personal blogs or content sites, dev shops, consultancies, agencies, crypto mining companies, or companies distributing tokens contrary to regulatory guidance in their jurisdiction.
How to apply, step by step
- Set up billing first. Create a Google Cloud account if you don't have one. Your 18-character billing account ID is in the Console under Billing > Manage your billing account.
- Align your domains. The business email on your application must match your startup's public website domain, and the email domain linked to the billing account must match too. If you only have a personal Gmail, create a company mailbox first.
- Open the application at cloud.google.com/startup/apply. Google auto-fills a billing account ID from the Cloud account linked to your email; if it shows the wrong one, enter the correct ID or the email tied to the right account.
- Choose your tier and describe your product and roadmap. For AI-first status, explain where Gemini or other Google AI sits in the core product.
- Prove funding (Scale only). Google asks for links to public sources describing your equity investment, not uploaded pitch decks. In stealth, ask your investor to verify the round.
- Wait for the decision. Most applicants hear within a few business days. Manual reviews can take 10 days or more.
- After approval, look for the welcome email, which Google says explains additional AI, Workspace and Maps benefits. Credits appear on the billing account you applied with.
How the two-year credit structure works
The Scale tiers don't simply hand you a lump sum. Year 1 credits cover 100% of eligible usage up to the cap. In Year 2, credits cover only 20% of usage, up to an additional $100,000, so you start paying most of your bill.
Worked example (AI-first): if eligible usage is $15,000 a month in Year 1, credits cover all of it: 12 × $15,000 = $180,000, which is within the $250,000 Year 1 cap. If Year 2 usage is $40,000 a month, credits cover 20% = $8,000 a month and you pay $32,000. Over 12 months that is $96,000 of credits, just under the $100,000 Year 2 limit. Unused Year 1 headroom ($70,000 here) does not carry into Year 2 under the published structure.
Year 2 is where startups get surprised. Plan for your bill to rise to roughly 80% of usage in month 13, and set budget alerts in Cloud Billing before then.
What the credits cover
- Covered: Google Cloud services and select Google Cloud offerings, which Google gives as examples including BigQuery and Gemini. Google's own models, such as Gemini and Gemma, are covered.
- Not covered: third-party models in Model Garden, which Google bills directly, and any third-party service or offering, including those on Google Cloud Marketplace.
- Separate benefits, not credits: Google Workspace, Google Maps Platform and Google Skills each come as their own benefit.
Gemini API billing caveat
If you call Gemini through the Gemini API in Google AI Studio rather than Vertex AI, read Google's billing rules. The Gemini API docs say that on a Prepay billing account you must add funds before promotional Cloud credits can be used, and eligible credits are then consumed before your prepaid balance. The same docs say the $300 Welcome or free-trial credit cannot be used on the Gemini API at all. Our Gemini API pricing page explains the per-token rates, and the Gemini API key guide covers setting up keys and billing.
Getting the most from the credits
- Prototype on free tiers first. The Gemini API free tier and the Google Cloud $300 free trial let you test before you start the clock on program credits. The Start tier only excludes credits received beyond the free trial, so using the trial does not rule you out.
- Watch the $5,000 rule. Scale requires that you haven't already received more than $5,000 in Google Cloud credits, so accepting a large credit offer elsewhere in Google can rule you out.
- Match the model to the job. Credits cover Gemini and Gemma but not partner models in Model Garden, so a pipeline built on a third-party model through Vertex AI will be billed to your card.
- Front-load heavy work into Year 1, such as data migration, fine-tuning experiments and evaluation runs, when credits cover 100% of usage.
How it compares with other cloud programs
| Program | Maximum published credits | Funding needed for top tier |
|---|---|---|
| Google for Startups Cloud Program | $350,000 (AI-first, over 2 years) | Equity funding (Pre-Seed/Seed within 5 years or Series A within 12 months) |
| AWS Activate | $200,000 (Portfolio); $200,000+ invite-only for AI startups | Org ID from an Activate Provider |
| Microsoft for Startups | Up to $150,000 in Azure credits over time | See that page for criteria |
| NVIDIA Inception | Partner cloud credits and hardware pricing | Free membership |
Many startups apply to more than one. The programs don't prohibit each other, but each counts its own credits, and Google's Scale tier looks at Google Cloud credits you've already received. For a wider list, see our guide to free AI credits.
Common mistakes
- Mismatched domains. Applying with a Gmail address, or a billing account owned by a different domain, is a blocker Google's FAQ calls out: the website, application email and billing account domains must match.
- Wrong funding type for Scale. Angel-only or grant-funded startups are routed to Start, not Scale.
- Sending decks instead of links. Google asks for public links to funding news or investor verification, not uploaded documents.
- Assuming Model Garden is covered. Third-party models are billed directly.
- Forgetting the Year 2 drop to 20% coverage.
Frequently asked questions
›How do I get $350,000 in Google Cloud credits?
You must qualify for the Scale tier (VC-funded, founded within the last 5 years, Pre-Seed/Seed in the last 5 years or Series A in the last 12 months) and be accepted as an AI-first startup. Year 1 covers 100% of usage up to $250,000 and Year 2 covers 20% of usage up to another $100,000.
›Can I get Google Cloud startup credits without VC funding?
Yes. The Start tier is for startups that plan to raise and offers up to $2,000 in credits valid for one year, if you were founded within the last 24 months and haven't had Google Cloud credits beyond the free trial. Angel, crowdfunding and friends-and-family funding are evaluated for Start, not Scale.
›Do Google startup credits cover Gemini?
Google says program credits cover its own models such as Gemini and Gemma and can be used on Google Cloud services such as BigQuery and Gemini. Third-party models in Model Garden are billed directly and are not covered. If you use the Gemini API through a Prepay billing account, Google's billing docs say you must add funds before promotional Cloud credits can be used.
›What do I need before applying?
An 18-character Google Cloud billing account ID and a business email matching your startup's public website domain. The email domain associated with the billing account must match as well.
›How is the Year 2 "20% up to $100,000" calculated?
In Year 2, credits cover 20% of your eligible Google Cloud usage until the additional $100,000 is used up; you pay the other 80%. For example, a $50,000 monthly bill would be offset by $10,000 of credits that month.
›Can I use the credits on Google Workspace, Maps or Marketplace products?
Not directly. Google says the Cloud credits can't be applied to third-party services or offerings, including those on Google Cloud Marketplace. Workspace and Google Maps Platform are separate benefits: Workspace Business Plus free for 12 months for new signups, and $600 a month in Maps Platform credits for Scale members through a separate application.
›How long does approval take?
Google says most applicants hear back within a few business days. Applications needing manual review can take 10 days or more.
›What if I'm rejected or in stealth mode?
Google's FAQ says to email your account manager or cloudstartupsupport@google.com. Stealth startups in the Scale tier are supported once funding is verified, typically by your investor.
Sources
Checked against these pages on Oct 17, 2026. Providers change offers often: always confirm on the official page before you rely on it.
- Official: Google for Startups Cloud Program benefits & eligibility(cloud.google.com)
- Official: Google Cloud AI startup program(cloud.google.com)
- Official: Program FAQ(cloud.google.com)
- Official: Gemini API billing documentation(ai.google.dev)
- Official: Google for Startups Cloud Program application(cloud.google.com)
Similar deals
Google Cloud Free Trial
$300 Welcome credit valid for 90 days
New Google Cloud customers get a $300 Welcome credit to spend over a 90-day Free Trial on most Google Cloud services. You must add a valid payment method, but you are not billed during the trial. The credit cannot pay for the Gemini API in AI Studio or for partner models offered as managed APIs, and trial accounts cannot add GPUs, use Marketplace or request quota increases. If you don't upgrade, resources are stopped at the end and deleted after a 30-day grace period. Separately, the always-free Free Tier keeps running with no end date.
Gemini (Google AI Pro / Google AI Plus)
Free Google AI Pro for 1 year (US); free Google AI Plus for 1 year in other countries
Eligible US college students aged 18+ can get the Google AI Pro student plan free for one year if they redeem by December 31, 2026. It includes 4x higher Gemini usage limits, 5 TB of storage, Gemini Spark, Gemini Omni and study tools. In other countries the student pages offer Google AI Plus free for one year instead, with 2x higher limits and 400 GB of storage. Student status is verified through SheerID, a payment method is required, and the plan renews at the normal price unless you cancel.
Gemini API / Google AI Studio
Free tier: Gemini 3.8 Flash, 3.6 Flash, 3.5 Flash-Lite, 2.5 Pro, 2.5 Flash, Gemma 4 and more, rate-limited
Google's Gemini API has a Free tier where many models are listed as 'Free of charge' for input and output, including Gemini 3.8 Flash, Gemini 3.6 Flash, Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite, Gemini 2.5 Pro, Gemini 2.5 Flash, Gemini Embedding 2 and Gemma 4. Newer flagship, image, video and music models (Gemini 4 Argon, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview, Nano Banana, Veo 3.1, Lyria) are paid-only. Free-tier prompts and responses may be used to improve Google's products and can be read by human reviewers. Rate limits apply per project and are shown in Google AI Studio rather than published as a fixed table.
Cloudflare Developer Platform (Workers, Workers AI, etc.)
$10,000 / $100,000 / $350,000 in credits by tier
Cloudflare for Startups offers three credit tiers: $10k for bootstrapped or self-funded startups that raised under $1M, $100k for startups that raised under $5M from an affiliated partner, and $350k for startups that raised $5M or more from an affiliated partner. Credits cover usage-based developer products such as Workers, Workers AI, R2 and D1, with product caps for R2 and Workers AI. Core security and network features (three Enterprise domains, DDoS, WAF, CDN and DNS) are free at every tier. Credits last one year or until used, with no extensions.