GrabAICredits (GrabAICredits)Submit a deal
AnthropicLimitedVerified

Claude for Startups (Anthropic): Startup Stack Perks, VC Partner API Credits and Current Status (2026)

Claude Startup Stack partner offers worth up to $45,000; up to $100,000 in additional Claude API credits via a partner VC (direct applications currently closed)

Claude Startups is Anthropic's program for early-stage founders building on Claude. Members get the Claude Startup Stack (partner discounts and credits worth up to $45,000), biweekly Applied AI group sessions and event invitations, and founders backed by a VC in Anthropic's partner network may be eligible for up to $100K in additional Claude API credits claimed through that VC. An expanded version launched on October 6, 2026 with a free year of Claude Team and $1,000 in API credits, but Anthropic paused those two perks on October 9 after an application surge. As of October 17, 2026 the official page says the current cohort is full and new applications are not being accepted.

Who is eligible

  • Early-stage founders building on Claude (the official page currently publishes no further criteria)
  • At the October 2026 relaunch, companies founded within the last five years or that raised funding within the last two years could apply, according to Forbes Australia reporting; this is not stated on the current official page
  • For the additional API credits (up to $100K): backed by a VC in Anthropic's partner network and claimed through that VC
  • Credits work only on the first-party Claude API in the Claude Console, so you need a Claude Console organization to use them

How to claim it

  1. Direct applications are closed: subscribe to the Claude Startup newsletter on claude.com/programs/startups to hear when the next cohort opens
  2. If your investor is in Anthropic's VC partner network, ask them how to claim the additional API credits; the claim runs through the VC, not through a public form
  3. Existing members sign in through the Claude Startups portal and redeem each Startup Stack offer with its code in the Claude Console

Catches & caveats

The official page does not list eligibility criteria, credit expiry dates, the names of partner VCs or the individual Startup Stack partners. The free year of Claude Team (up to five Premium seats) and the $1,000 API credit announced on October 6, 2026 were paused on October 9, 2026, as reported by Forbes Australia; founders who had already claimed them keep them. Older third-party guides that describe fixed tiers such as $5,000 to $100,000 for direct applicants could not be matched to any official Anthropic page and are not used here. Status is Limited because direct applications are closed while the VC partner route is still described as available.

Short answer: Claude for Startups (officially "Claude Startups") is real and still running for existing members, but you cannot apply directly right now. Anthropic's page says the current cohort is full. The only route still described as open is the VC route: if your startup is backed by a firm in Anthropic's partner network, you may be eligible for up to $100K in additional Claude API credits, claimed through that investor.

On October 9, 2026 Anthropic paused the free year of Claude Team and the $1,000 API credit it had added to the program three days earlier. Founders who already claimed those perks keep them. If you were approved but had not claimed them, Anthropic said your application would be re-reviewed and some approvals would not be honored (Forbes Australia).

What members get

The official program page lists four member benefits. None of them is a guaranteed cash amount for every member, and the page does not publish per-offer values or expiry dates.

BenefitWhat Anthropic saysNotes
Claude Startup StackOffers from AI-native companies across sales, design, data, meetings and engineering, worth up to $45,000Redeemed with codes in the Claude Console. The $45,000 is a ceiling across partner offers, not Claude API credit
VC partner API creditsUp to $100K in additional Claude API credits for founders backed by a VC in Anthropic's partner networkClaimed through the VC. Partner list not published
Applied AI sessionsLive group sessions with Anthropic's Applied AI team every other week, webinar format with an AMAUseful for prompt, agent and architecture questions
EventsInvitations to Claude Startup events, hackathons and community meetupsFor example, a Claude Founder House in San Francisco on October 6-8, 2026 during SF Tech Week

Two perks are not currently on offer to new members: the one-year Claude Team plan for up to five Premium seats and the one-time $1,000 API credit. Both were part of the October 6, 2026 expansion and both were paused on October 9. Anthropic has not announced when, or whether, they will return.

Where the credits can and cannot be used

Anthropic is explicit that Claude Startups credits apply only to the first-party Claude API through the Claude Console. They cannot be used on AWS, Google Cloud, Azure or other third-party platforms. This matters if you already run Claude through Amazon Bedrock or Google Cloud's Vertex AI: switching those calls to the Claude API directly is the only way to spend these credits.

If your production stack is built around a cloud marketplace, the cloud provider's own startup program is often a better fit. AWS says AWS Activate credits can be used for third-party foundation models on Amazon Bedrock, including Anthropic's models, and Microsoft for Startups offers Azure credits. Google's Google for Startups Cloud Program is different: its credits cover Google's own models such as Gemini and Gemma, and Google says third-party models in Model Garden are billed directly.

Credits also do not apply to consumer subscriptions such as Claude Pro or Max. Those are billed separately; see Claude pricing for plan prices.

Who qualifies

The current official page describes the program only as being for "early-stage founders building on Claude" and lists no numeric criteria. During the October 2026 relaunch, press coverage reported that companies founded within the last five years, or that had raised funding within the last two years, could apply. Anthropic's head of startup marketing later said the acceptance criteria had not been tuned properly and that many non-startups got in, which suggests the criteria for the next cohort may be stricter. Treat the five-year/two-year rule as historical until Anthropic publishes new criteria.

For the VC route, the deciding factor is your investor, not a public checklist. Anthropic does not publish its partner list, so the practical step is to ask your lead investor's platform or portfolio-support team whether they have an Anthropic credit allocation.

How to get in: step by step

If you are VC-backed

  1. Ask your investor whether they are in Anthropic's VC partner network. Many funds keep a perks portal listing cloud and AI credits.
  2. If they are, follow their process to request Claude API credits. The claim runs through the VC; there is no public form for it.
  3. Set up a Claude Console organization with your company email so credits can be applied to it. Our Anthropic API key guide walks through creating the organization and your first key.
  4. Once credits are applied, check the balance in Console billing settings and note any expiry date shown there. The program page does not publish one.

If you are not VC-backed

  1. Subscribe to the Claude Startup newsletter from claude.com/programs/startups. Anthropic says this is how it will announce the next cohort.
  2. Meanwhile, use the regular Claude API at standard rates, or look at other programs that are open now (see below).
  3. When applications reopen, apply with a company email on your startup's domain and a working product description. Criteria for the next cohort have not been published.

What $1,000 or $100,000 of Claude API credit buys

Credits are spent at standard Claude API prices. Using Anthropic's published rates for Claude Sonnet 5.5 ($2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens), a typical request with 2,000 input tokens and 500 output tokens costs 2,000 × $2 / 1,000,000 + 500 × $10 / 1,000,000 = $0.004 + $0.005 = $0.009.

Credit amountRequests at $0.009 each (Sonnet 5.5)With the 50% Batch API discount
$1,000about 111,000about 222,000
$25,000about 2.8 millionabout 5.6 million
$100,000about 11.1 millionabout 22.2 million

Smaller models stretch credits further. Claude Haiku 5.5 is listed at $0.10 per million input tokens and $0.50 per million output tokens for prompts up to 100,000 tokens, so the same 2,000-in, 500-out request costs $0.00045. Prompt caching also cuts input cost on repeated system prompts. Full rates are on our Claude API pricing page.

Timeline of the program

  • May 2026: Claude Startups goes live, according to Forbes Australia, which describes it as launched five months before the October expansion.
  • October 6, 2026: Anthropic expands the program during SF Tech Week. New members are offered a free year of Claude Team for up to five Premium seats, a one-time $1,000 API credit and the Claude Startup Stack worth up to $45,000.
  • October 9, 2026: Anthropic pauses the Claude Team and $1,000 credit perks. Sarah Wolf, head of startup marketing, says the program received 21 times as many applications in 48 hours as in the previous five months and that Anthropic "let way too many people in this time".
  • October 17, 2026 (our last check): The official page says the current cohort is full, new applications are closed, applications in review were not moved forward, and current members keep access. The VC partner route is still described.

Alternatives while applications are closed

Common mistakes

  • Expecting credits on Bedrock or Vertex AI. Anthropic's credits work only on the Claude API in the Claude Console.
  • Reading the $45,000 as Claude credit. It is the combined ceiling of partner offers in the Startup Stack, and each partner sets its own terms.
  • Relying on old tier tables. Many third-party guides list fixed tiers for direct applicants. Anthropic does not publish such tiers, and the direct route is closed.
  • Assuming an approval email guarantees the perks. After the October pause, Anthropic said some approved but unclaimed applications would not receive the offer.

Frequently asked questions

›How much in Anthropic API credits can a startup get?

The official page says founders backed by a VC in Anthropic's partner network may be eligible for up to $100K in additional Claude API credits, claimed through their VC. Separately, the Claude Startup Stack bundles partner discounts and credits worth up to $45,000, which are offers from other companies rather than Claude API credit. The $1,000 API credit announced on October 6, 2026 was paused three days later.

›Is the Anthropic startup program open for applications?

Not as of October 17, 2026. The official page states that the current cohort is full, Anthropic is not accepting new applications, and applications that were still in review were not moved forward. You can subscribe to the Claude Startup newsletter to be told when the next cohort opens.

›What happened to the free year of Claude Team and the $1,000 credit?

Both were added in an expansion announced on October 6, 2026 and paused on October 9, 2026. Forbes Australia reported that Anthropic received 21 times as many applications in 48 hours as in the previous five months. Founders who already claimed the perks keep them; unclaimed approvals were sent back for re-review and some will not be honored.

›Can Claude startup credits be used on Amazon Bedrock or Google Vertex AI?

No. Anthropic says Claude Startups credits apply only to the first-party Claude API through the Claude Console. They cannot be used on AWS, Google Cloud, Azure or other third-party platforms. If you want to pay for Claude on Bedrock with credits, AWS Activate credits can cover Bedrock model usage instead.

›Which VCs are Anthropic partners?

Anthropic does not publish the list of partner VCs on the program page. Ask your lead investor directly whether they are in the network and how they submit credit claims.

›Do Claude startup credits expire?

The official page does not state an expiry date for API credits or Startup Stack offers. Check the credit balance and any expiry shown in your Claude Console billing settings once credits are applied, and read each partner's terms for Startup Stack offers.

›Is Claude for Startups the same as the Claude for Open Source program?

No. Claude for Open Source gives individual maintainers six months of Claude Max 20x and is still accepting applications. Claude for Startups is aimed at companies and centers on API credits, partner offers and Applied AI sessions.

›What do current members still get?

Anthropic says current members keep their access. That includes the Claude Startup Stack offers, the live Applied AI group sessions held every other week with an AMA, and invitations to Claude Startup events, hackathons and community meetups.

Sources

Checked against these pages on Oct 17, 2026. Providers change offers often: always confirm on the official page before you rely on it.

  1. Official: Claude for Startups program page(claude.com)
  2. Official: Claude for Startups page (VC and YC credit entry point)(claude.com)
  3. Official: Claude plans and pricing(claude.com)
  4. Official: Claude API pricing documentation(platform.claude.com)
  5. Reporting: Forbes Australia, Anthropic pauses free Claude startup perks days after launch (Oct 12, 2026)(www.forbes.com.au)

Similar deals

AnthropicActive

Claude Max 20x subscription

6 months of Claude Max 20x free

Anthropic's Claude for Open Source Program gives qualifying open-source maintainers and contributors six months of Claude Max 20x at no cost. It is a personal subscription for individual use, not an API credit grant. Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis with no fixed deadline, and the official terms cap the program at 10,000 approved recipients, a number Anthropic may increase.

Verified
AnthropicLimited

Claude

No individual student discount; free access via university Claude for Education deals and the Claude Campus program

Anthropic does not sell a discounted Claude Pro plan to individual students. Students get paid-tier Claude through their university when it buys the institution-wide Claude for Education plan, which covers students, faculty and staff. Anthropic also runs the Claude Campus program for 2026-27 (Claude Builder Club, Campus Conversations and Claude Science workshops), which pays selected student leaders a USD 3,600 stipend and gives Builder Club leads resources such as API credits to share with members. Applications for the 2026-27 cohort have closed.

Verified
GoogleActive

Google Cloud

Up to $2,000 (Start tier), up to $200,000 (Scale tier), or up to $350,000 for AI-first Scale-tier startups

The Google for Startups Cloud Program has a Start tier (up to $2,000 in Google Cloud credits valid for one year) for startups planning to raise, and a Scale tier for VC-funded startups (up to $200,000 over two years: 100% of usage up to $100,000 in Year 1 and 20% of usage up to another $100,000 in Year 2). AI-first startups in the Scale tier can receive up to $350,000, with Year 1 covering 100% of usage up to $250,000. Members also get Google Skills training credits and Google Workspace Business Plus free for 12 months for new signups, and Scale members get support credits, Google Maps Platform credits and a Startup Success Manager. Credits cover Google models such as Gemini and Gemma; third-party models in Model Garden are billed directly.

Verified
CloudflareActive

Cloudflare Developer Platform (Workers, Workers AI, etc.)

$10,000 / $100,000 / $350,000 in credits by tier

Cloudflare for Startups offers three credit tiers: $10k for bootstrapped or self-funded startups that raised under $1M, $100k for startups that raised under $5M from an affiliated partner, and $350k for startups that raised $5M or more from an affiliated partner. Credits cover usage-based developer products such as Workers, Workers AI, R2 and D1, with product caps for R2 and Workers AI. Core security and network features (three Enterprise domains, DDoS, WAF, CDN and DNS) are free at every tier. Credits last one year or until used, with no extensions.

Verified