GrabAICredits (GrabAICredits)Submit a deal
OpenAILimitedVerified

ChatGPT Plus Student Offer (2026): 4 Free Months for US College Students

4 free months of ChatGPT Plus (US college students)

OpenAI's 2026 Back to School offer gives eligible US college and graduate students four free monthly billing periods of ChatGPT Plus, worth $80 at the $20/month list price. Students verify through SheerID and must add a payment method to activate it. Claims must be made by October 31, 2026.

Who is eligible

  • Current full-time or part-time college or graduate students
  • Enrolled at an eligible US degree-granting institution
  • Student status verified through SheerID
  • A school email address alone, or student status outside the US, does not make an account eligible
  • Aimed at students who don't already get ChatGPT Edu through their campus

How to claim it

  1. Go to chatgpt.com/students and sign in to ChatGPT (or create a free account)
  2. Start the offer and verify your student status with SheerID. It may check trusted enrollment records, ask you to sign in through your school's single sign-on, or ask for documents
  3. Add a payment method (required to activate). You are not charged for the four free months, and Plus renews at $20/month afterwards unless you cancel
  4. Claim by October 31, 2026

Catches & caveats

The Oct 31, 2026 deadline is confirmed in OpenAI's own Edu newsletter. The payment-method requirement, the $20/month renewal and the US-only rule come from OpenAI's Help Center article. Cancelling early forfeits the remaining free months. A different 2025 promo (two free Plus months for US and Canadian students, March 31 to May 31, 2025) has ended.

Yes, US college students can get ChatGPT Plus free right now, but only until October 31, 2026. OpenAI's 2026 Back to School offer gives eligible college and graduate students four free monthly billing periods of Plus. At the $20/month list price that is worth $80. You verify through SheerID and must add a payment method, and Plus renews at $20/month when the free periods end unless you cancel.

Deadline: October 31, 2026. OpenAI's Edu newsletter says the offer runs through that date. After it, there is no published student price for ChatGPT Plus.

What you get

The offer is a normal ChatGPT Plus subscription with the first four monthly billing periods at no charge. You get the same features a paying Plus subscriber gets. OpenAI's Edu newsletter adds that the Plus months also include access to ChatGPT Work.

ItemDetails
PlanChatGPT Plus (normally $20/month)
Free period4 monthly billing periods
Value$80 (4 x $20)
WhoFull-time or part-time college and graduate students at eligible US degree-granting institutions
VerificationSheerID
Payment methodRequired to activate; not charged during the free periods
After the offerRenews at $20/month unless you cancel
Claim deadlineOctober 31, 2026

What ChatGPT Plus includes

OpenAI's current plan list (published on its Codex pricing page) describes Plus as follows:

  • Access to GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna, with higher usage than the Free and Go plans.
  • Codex on the web, in the CLI, in the IDE extension and on iOS, plus cloud integrations such as automatic code review and Slack.
  • The option to buy extra ChatGPT credits when you reach your included usage, instead of upgrading to Pro.

For coding, OpenAI publishes estimated Codex limits per five-hour window on Plus: roughly 350-3,000 local messages with GPT-6 Luna, 15-160 with GPT-6.1 Sol and 5-45 with GPT-6 Astra. OpenAI says these are estimates, not fixed caps, and that real limits depend on the size of each task. Weekly limits may also apply. See ChatGPT pricing for the full plan comparison.

What you don't get

  • No permanent discount. When the four free periods end, you pay the full $20/month. OpenAI does not publish a lower student rate for Plus.
  • No Pro features. Pro ($100, $200 or $500/month) has higher limits and, at present, no five-hour Codex limit. The student offer covers Plus only.
  • No API credits. Plus is a ChatGPT subscription. It does not add money to an OpenAI API (platform) account. See OpenAI API pricing for how the API is billed.

Who qualifies

According to OpenAI's Help Center, the offer is for current full-time and part-time college and graduate students enrolled at eligible US degree-granting institutions. OpenAI adds three points that catch people out:

  • A school email alone is not enough. Having a .edu address does not make an account eligible. Enrollment has to be confirmed through SheerID.
  • Students outside the US do not qualify, even if they can open a localized version of the offer page.
  • Students who already have ChatGPT Edu through their campus are not the audience. The Edu newsletter describes the offer as being for US college students who don't already have ChatGPT Edu.

Your account also has to meet ChatGPT's normal terms of use. If SheerID can't confirm your school or your current enrollment, you'll find out during verification.

How to claim it, step by step

  1. Open chatgpt.com/students and sign in. If you don't have an account, create a free one first. You can use a personal email; the account does not have to use your school address.
  2. Start the student offer and follow the prompts to verify with SheerID. SheerID may confirm your enrollment from trusted records instantly, ask you to sign in through your school's single sign-on, or ask you to upload a document showing current enrollment.
  3. Add a payment method. OpenAI requires one to activate the offer. You are not charged for the four free billing periods.
  4. Confirm the subscription. Your account switches to Plus straight away.
  5. Set a reminder a few days before your fourth free period ends if you don't plan to pay $20/month afterwards.

Sign up on the web, not through the iPhone or Android app. OpenAI's offer flow lives at chatgpt.com/students, and subscriptions bought through an app store are billed and managed by Apple or Google instead.

Payment, renewal and cancelling

This is the part that most often surprises people. The offer is a free start to a paid subscription, not a gift card. The billing works like this:

  1. Billing periods 1 to 4: $0.
  2. Billing period 5 onwards: $20/month (plus any sales tax that applies in your state), charged to the payment method you added.
  3. If you cancel before period 5 starts, you are not charged and the account returns to the Free plan.

OpenAI's Help Center says that cancelling during the offer forfeits the remaining free months. So if you cancel in month two to be safe, you lose months three and four. The cheapest approach is to keep the subscription and cancel shortly before the fourth free billing period ends. You cancel from your ChatGPT account settings, under the subscription or plan section.

Your chats, files and custom GPTs stay in your account when you move back to Free. What changes is your usage limits and which models and features are available.

How to get the most out of four months

  • Time it for your heaviest months. The offer must be claimed by October 31, 2026, so the four free periods run through roughly the end of the fall term and into winter. That covers midterms, finals and project deadlines.
  • Use it for coding. Plus is the cheapest plan that unlocks full Codex on the web, CLI and IDE. If you study computer science, it covers a semester of assignments and side projects. See Is Codex free? for how the plans differ.
  • Stack it with the Codex student credits. Students in the US and Canada can also claim $100 in Codex credits (2,500 credits). Those credits extend Codex usage beyond your plan's limits and work on Plus. See Codex credits for students.
  • Check your school's rules. Many courses limit or ban AI help on graded work. A free Plus account does not change those rules.

History of OpenAI's student offers

WhenOfferWhoStatus
March 31 - May 31, 2025ChatGPT Plus free for two months (finals season)Students at degree-granting institutions in the US and CanadaEnded
July 2026Codex for Students: $100 in Codex creditsUniversity students in the US and CanadaActive, no end date published
2026 Back to School4 free monthly billing periods of PlusCollege and graduate students at US institutionsEnds October 31, 2026

The 2025 offer was reported by Decrypt and TechRadar at the time. It also used SheerID, but it covered Canadian students too and gave two months, not four. The 2026 offer is US-only. OpenAI hasn't said whether there will be another student promotion after October 2026.

How it compares with other student AI deals

DealWhat students getCard neededRegions
ChatGPT Plus (this offer)4 free months of Plus, then $20/monthYesUS
Google AI Pro for students1 free year of Google AI Pro (redeem by Dec 31, 2026); AI Plus elsewhereSee deal pageUS; other countries get AI Plus
GitHub Copilot StudentFree Copilot Student plan with monthly AI CreditsNoGlobal
Codex credits for students$100 in Codex creditsNot statedUS, Canada
Perplexity Education ProDiscounted Pro planYesNot stated
ClaudeNo individual discount; free through universities that buy Claude for EducationNoParticipating schools

If you want the longest free period, Google's one-year offer runs longer. If you mainly write code, GitHub Copilot Student is free for as long as you stay verified. ChatGPT Plus is the best fit if you already use ChatGPT daily and want higher limits and full Codex for a semester. For a wider list, see how to get free AI credits.

Common mistakes

  • Missing the deadline. The claim must be made by October 31, 2026. Starting verification isn't the same as finishing it, so leave time in case SheerID asks for documents.
  • Assuming a .edu email is enough. OpenAI says it is not. SheerID has to confirm enrollment.
  • Cancelling too early. Cancelling forfeits the remaining free months.
  • Forgetting the renewal. The fifth billing period is charged at $20/month to your saved payment method.
  • Applying from outside the US. Non-US students are not eligible, even through a localized offer page.

Frequently asked questions

›Is ChatGPT Plus free for students?

For a limited time, yes. Eligible US college and graduate students can get four free monthly billing periods of ChatGPT Plus through OpenAI's 2026 Back to School offer, if they claim by October 31, 2026.

›Does ChatGPT have a student discount?

There is no ongoing student price. The 2026 offer is a time-limited promotion of four free Plus months for US students. After that, Plus costs the normal $20/month.

›How do I verify as a student for ChatGPT?

OpenAI uses SheerID to confirm enrollment at an eligible US degree-granting institution. SheerID may check trusted records, ask you to sign in through your school's single sign-on, or ask you to upload documents.

›Do I need a credit card for the ChatGPT student offer?

Yes. OpenAI requires a payment method to activate the offer. You are not charged during the four free billing periods, but Plus renews at $20/month after that unless you cancel.

›What happens after the four free months?

Your subscription renews automatically as paid ChatGPT Plus at $20/month. If you don't want to pay, cancel before the fourth free billing period ends and your account will move back to the Free plan.

›If I cancel early, do I keep the rest of the free months?

No. Cancelling during the offer forfeits the remaining free months. Cancel near the end of the fourth free period if you only want to avoid the renewal.

›Can students outside the US get free ChatGPT Plus?

Not through this offer. It is limited to students at US institutions, and OpenAI says student status outside the US does not make an account eligible. Everyone can use the free ChatGPT plan, and students in the US and Canada can also claim $100 in Codex credits.

›Can I get the Plus offer and the Codex student credits together?

Yes, as far as OpenAI's published terms go. The Codex for Students credits work on personal Free, Go, Plus and Pro accounts, so a Plus account from the Back to School offer qualifies, as long as you meet the US or Canada eligibility rules for the credits.

Sources

Checked against these pages on Oct 17, 2026. Providers change offers often: always confirm on the official page before you rely on it.

  1. Official: OpenAI Help - ChatGPT Back to School offer for students(help.openai.com)
  2. Official: OpenAI Edu newsletter (The Edu Prompt, issue 5)(edunewsletter.openai.com)
  3. Official: OpenAI Codex pricing (ChatGPT plan prices and Plus limits)(learn.chatgpt.com)
  4. Official: OpenAI Developers - Codex for Students(developers.openai.com)
  5. Reporting: Decrypt on the spring 2025 free Plus offer for US and Canadian students(decrypt.co)
  6. Reporting: TechRadar on the 2025 finals-season Plus giveaway(www.techradar.com)

Similar deals

OpenAIActive

Codex

$100 in Codex credits (2,500 credits)

OpenAI gives verified university students in the United States and Canada $100 in Codex credits (shown as 2,500 credits) to use with Codex in ChatGPT. It works with a personal ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus or Pro account. Students verify through SheerID with their university email, and the credits expire 12 months after they are granted.

Verified
OpenAILimited

OpenAI API

Free API credits, rate limit upgrades and solutions engineering time via partner VCs (amount not published)

OpenAI's startups page groups support into Build, Grow and Scale stages. Anyone can use the Build resources (starter repos, Build Hours and technical guides). The valuable benefits, free API credits, rate limit or usage tier upgrades and time with OpenAI's technical team, are unlocked through eligible VC partners. A partner VC gives you a referral code. OpenAI doesn't publish a public, self-serve credit amount.

Verified
GoogleActive

Gemini (Google AI Pro / Google AI Plus)

Free Google AI Pro for 1 year (US); free Google AI Plus for 1 year in other countries

Eligible US college students aged 18+ can get the Google AI Pro student plan free for one year if they redeem by December 31, 2026. It includes 4x higher Gemini usage limits, 5 TB of storage, Gemini Spark, Gemini Omni and study tools. In other countries the student pages offer Google AI Plus free for one year instead, with 2x higher limits and 400 GB of storage. Student status is verified through SheerID, a payment method is required, and the plan renews at the normal price unless you cancel.

Verified
LovableActive

Lovable

50% off Lovable Pro (100 credits, billed monthly) for up to 12 months

Lovable gives students and teachers 50% off Lovable Pro for up to 12 months. That cuts the 100-credit monthly plan from $25 to $12.50 a month. You verify by logging in with your school email, and no card is needed to verify. Lovable's docs limit the discount to the 100-credit Pro plan billed monthly. Higher tiers, annual billing, Business and top-ups are charged at full price.

Verified